L.A. native Modus has been steadily making a name for himself, and this upcoming EP is more proof he’s earned that success. His Perceptions EP for Understated Recordings is a quick and dirty two-tracker that is equal parts simple and wholly effective.

Diving into the first cut, “Let’s Make It,” we find Modus putting together a solid chunk of body-moving techno. This tune leans more on the tech house side and is definitely born for the warehouse set. Deep and warm, it’s not afraid to pull in raw drums with a hefty punch. Lead by a sawed synth, the melody shifts back and forth through filtered dynamics that breathe an organic flow over the lock-step beat. Finished off with a humanizing vocal sample, “Let’s Make It” has all the trappings of a solid tune.

Never too cold nor ready to give in to a warm glow, this track sits comfortably in the middle, where it should appeal to a wide audience. Between the pulsing rhythm and the floating synths, it’s sure to put feet in motion. It’s the kind of track that is supposed to be slammed down in the wee hours of a long night, when you really need to inject life back into the dancefloor.

Available May 15 via Understated Recordings.

Buy Modus’ Perceptions EP here.

Follow Modus on Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud
Follow Understated Recordings on Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud



You might also like

  • 1 Dombresky Technikal
  • 2 Redlight ft. Sweetie Irie Zum Zum
  • 3 Left/Right Bloom
  • 4 Bonnie X Clyde, Purge Torn
  • 5 Chris Lake & Chris Lorenzo Nothing Better
  • 6 Craig Williams Everybody
  • 7 Cut Snake Dr Um
  • 8 Rell the Soundbender x Rawtek Baja
  • 9 Yultron ft. Leah Culver Ride With You
  • 10 Sinden & Herve Body & Soul
  • 11 Rell the Soundbender x B!tch Be Cool Diablo House
  • 12 Kayoh Rise
  • 13 CONVEX You Never
  • 14 ASDEK Signal Loss
  • 15 ATICA Like U
  • 16 Born Dirty & Jaw & Cassius High
  • 17 Dead Critic & Drop Dead Call Me
  • 18 DIV IDE Get In The Car
  • 19 Jayceeoh & Clips x Ahoy Dancin On My Wrist
  • 20 LA Riots House Philosophy
  • 21 LondonBridge x Lliam Taylor Creepin'
  • 22 Landis Keep On
  • 23 Mahalo Perfect Radio
  • 24 Sage Armstrong & BOT Flashy Lights
  • 25 Wongo Crunch
  • 26 YDG Replace You ft. Aviella