Russia’s continuously surprising and talented bass house phenom Proxy is back for a second round on AC Slater’s mighty Night Bass. This time, he’s kicking out a two-track EP called Stupid Serious, which happens to be a very apt description.

The first tune in that equation is “Stupid,” a mean piece of work. Pumping in with an unassuming four-on-the-floor beat, this track feels as though it could easily go in a deep house direction. However, angular synths and low-pitched vocals quickly give the hint that this is a very different animal, indeed. Keeping things deep and low on an oceanic level, it’s the drop that comes out of left field. A big-energy bass house synth rolls and shifts, and then the listener is met with a bassline that hammers with a broken staccato punch. Not only does it follow an off-kilter timing, but it’s punctuated by a secondary jittery, arpeggiated synth. The rest of the track, with an energetic dynamic, plays with variations on this theme.

It could easily go south very fast in different hands, yet Proxy takes these risky choices and sows them into a track that is both catchy and captivating. It appears to work so well because it’s following many of the standard expectations of this style—but executing them on its own terms, following through in its own original way. While it may be true that “Stupid” might catch a few listeners off guard, if dropped at the right moment, this track could make a dancefloor go totally wild.

Available March 23 via Night Bass.

Buy Proxy’s Stupid Serious EP here.

Follow Proxy on Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud
Follow Night Bass on Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud



You might also like
  • 1 Dombresky Technikal
  • 2 Redlight ft. Sweetie Irie Zum Zum
  • 3 Left/Right Bloom
  • 4 Bonnie X Clyde, Purge Torn
  • 5 Chris Lake & Chris Lorenzo Nothing Better
  • 6 Craig Williams Everybody
  • 7 Cut Snake Dr Um
  • 8 Rell the Soundbender x Rawtek Baja
  • 9 Yultron ft. Leah Culver Ride With You
  • 10 Sinden & Herve Body & Soul
  • 11 Rell the Soundbender x B!tch Be Cool Diablo House
  • 12 Kayoh Rise
  • 13 CONVEX You Never
  • 14 ASDEK Signal Loss
  • 15 ATICA Like U
  • 16 Born Dirty & Jaw & Cassius High
  • 17 Dead Critic & Drop Dead Call Me
  • 18 DIV IDE Get In The Car
  • 19 Jayceeoh & Clips x Ahoy Dancin On My Wrist
  • 20 LA Riots House Philosophy
  • 21 LondonBridge x Lliam Taylor Creepin'
  • 22 Landis Keep On
  • 23 Mahalo Perfect Radio
  • 24 Sage Armstrong & BOT Flashy Lights
  • 25 Wongo Crunch
  • 26 YDG Replace You ft. Aviella