“Epic” is swiftly becoming the standard go-to adjective to draw upon when describing any new material from Notaker, the US-based progressive producer who has been taking listeners on a scenic ride through cosmically charged soundscapes. With his previous EP, Genesis on Monstercat, described precisely as such right here on this very site, we’re pleased to do the same for his next EP.

The Erebus I EP, arriving this week on deadmau5’s mighty mau5trap label, again sees Notaker exploring a captivating universe of musical styles and ideas, from angelic ambient to powerful progressive breaks. There’s room there, though, for some 4/4 mainroom madness in the form of “Machina”—the most straight-up powerhouse cut from the EP—which we’re highlighting as our Track of the Day.

“It’s the second installment of my Vessel series, where I use this fictional space vessel as a way to tell stories through artwork, song mood, and sci-fi/space concepts,” Notaker says of the new EP. “We really went over the top on the artwork and storytelling on this one. I’m very proud of how it turned out and how I put a new, darker spin on my sound.”

Available July 6 via mau5trap.

Notaker’s Erebus I is available here.

Follow Notaker on Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud
Follow mau5trap on Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud



You might also like

  • 1 Dombresky Technikal
  • 2 Redlight ft. Sweetie Irie Zum Zum
  • 3 Left/Right Bloom
  • 4 Bonnie X Clyde, Purge Torn
  • 5 Chris Lake & Chris Lorenzo Nothing Better
  • 6 Craig Williams Everybody
  • 7 Cut Snake Dr Um
  • 8 Rell the Soundbender x Rawtek Baja
  • 9 Yultron ft. Leah Culver Ride With You
  • 10 Sinden & Herve Body & Soul
  • 11 Rell the Soundbender x B!tch Be Cool Diablo House
  • 12 Kayoh Rise
  • 13 CONVEX You Never
  • 14 ASDEK Signal Loss
  • 15 ATICA Like U
  • 16 Born Dirty & Jaw & Cassius High
  • 17 Dead Critic & Drop Dead Call Me
  • 18 DIV IDE Get In The Car
  • 19 Jayceeoh & Clips x Ahoy Dancin On My Wrist
  • 20 LA Riots House Philosophy
  • 21 LondonBridge x Lliam Taylor Creepin'
  • 22 Landis Keep On
  • 23 Mahalo Perfect Radio
  • 24 Sage Armstrong & BOT Flashy Lights
  • 25 Wongo Crunch
  • 26 YDG Replace You ft. Aviella