Maztek returns to center stage with his highly anticipated Warpath album on his newly minted 0101 imprint. Having secured a place within the upper echelon of the drum & bass scene with a massive series of chest-thumping, tech-driven releases, the Netherlands-based Italian artist has been holed up in the lab for the better part of the past year, refining his sound and honing the razor-sharp precision of his dancefloor weaponry, as an early listen to the album can attest. While the masses will have to wait until the end of the week to feel the full fury of Maztek going beast-mode, we’re proud to be able to hit you with this first glimpse into one of our favorite cuts off the LP: “Back to the Jungle,” which we’re premiering above.

As the title of the tune hints, this filthy burner gives a proper nod to the old-school while keeping things popping for the new-school dancefloor. Centered on a shuffling beat and pummeling hook, the ragga-tinged vocal keeps the flashbacks in full force while the rugged bottom-end is sure to have the heads bouncing off the walls. While it may seem to stray from Maztek’s usual neuro-driven output, the tune is a great intro to the diverse range of sounds and vibes he’s digging into on the album proper. Designed as a legit exploration of his journey as a producer over the years, the album draws on hip-hop and reggae influences just as much as it pays homage to the classic neurofunk sound that put him on the map in the first place.

With Warpath promising a number of heavy collabs featuring Gridlok, Aeph, and Redpill—alongside vocal contributions from the likes of MC Mota, Ben Verse, Virus Syndicate, Nuklear MC, and Miss Trouble—“Back to the Jungle” offers a sick preview into the madness Maztek’s about to deliver.

Available April 7 via 0101 Music.

Follow Maztek on Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud
Follow 0101 Music on Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud



You might also like
  • 1 Dombresky Technikal
  • 2 Redlight ft. Sweetie Irie Zum Zum
  • 3 Left/Right Bloom
  • 4 Bonnie X Clyde, Purge Torn
  • 5 Chris Lake & Chris Lorenzo Nothing Better
  • 6 Craig Williams Everybody
  • 7 Cut Snake Dr Um
  • 8 Rell the Soundbender x Rawtek Baja
  • 9 Yultron ft. Leah Culver Ride With You
  • 10 Sinden & Herve Body & Soul
  • 11 Rell the Soundbender x B!tch Be Cool Diablo House
  • 12 Kayoh Rise
  • 13 CONVEX You Never
  • 14 ASDEK Signal Loss
  • 15 ATICA Like U
  • 16 Born Dirty & Jaw & Cassius High
  • 17 Dead Critic & Drop Dead Call Me
  • 18 DIV IDE Get In The Car
  • 19 Jayceeoh & Clips x Ahoy Dancin On My Wrist
  • 20 LA Riots House Philosophy
  • 21 LondonBridge x Lliam Taylor Creepin'
  • 22 Landis Keep On
  • 23 Mahalo Perfect Radio
  • 24 Sage Armstrong & BOT Flashy Lights
  • 25 Wongo Crunch
  • 26 YDG Replace You ft. Aviella