Australian house specialists Medium Rare Recordings are about to serve up a delicious beat feast in the form of The Banquet Vol. 5, the latest in their compilation series, featuring 25 exclusive cuts from the likes of Ray Foxx, Marc Spence, Beth Yen, HAEZER, LondonBridge, J. Worra, and many more. Curated and mixed by the label’s sous chef Double Agent, it’s promised as “an indulgent sitting of hi-brow house music ready to satisfy the most ravenous of ravers,” and we’re bringing you its offering from Franklyn Watts as our tasty Track of the Day.

“Don’t Bite That” is a stripped-back and minimal-minded slice of groovy tech house that lays its pulsing groove down early and quick, before unleashing a dose of trippy 303 acid as things get really wacky (in the style of a proper 3am dancefloor throwdown). As the noisy wildness escalates, the chopped-up vocal is introduced in stops and starts. Asking, as the title suggests, that you “don’t bite that”—fittingly, this hypnotic groover’s vocal hook is consistent with the compilation’s banquet theme. This one is deep and delicious.

“I really like experimenting with funky sequenced leads alongside more groove-oriented basslines, so I am really happy with how this one came out,” Watts tells Insomniac. “It’s topped off with a naughty vocal stab to give it that cheeky vibe on the dancefloor. And of course, it’s great to be back on Medium Rare.”

Available December 7 via Medium Rare Recordings.

Follow Franklyn Watts on Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud
Follow Medium Rare Recordings on Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud



You might also like
  • 1 Dombresky Technikal
  • 2 Redlight ft. Sweetie Irie Zum Zum
  • 3 Left/Right Bloom
  • 4 Bonnie X Clyde, Purge Torn
  • 5 Chris Lake & Chris Lorenzo Nothing Better
  • 6 Craig Williams Everybody
  • 7 Cut Snake Dr Um
  • 8 Rell the Soundbender x Rawtek Baja
  • 9 Yultron ft. Leah Culver Ride With You
  • 10 Sinden & Herve Body & Soul
  • 11 Rell the Soundbender x B!tch Be Cool Diablo House
  • 12 Kayoh Rise
  • 13 CONVEX You Never
  • 14 ASDEK Signal Loss
  • 15 ATICA Like U
  • 16 Born Dirty & Jaw & Cassius High
  • 17 Dead Critic & Drop Dead Call Me
  • 18 DIV IDE Get In The Car
  • 19 Jayceeoh & Clips x Ahoy Dancin On My Wrist
  • 20 LA Riots House Philosophy
  • 21 LondonBridge x Lliam Taylor Creepin'
  • 22 Landis Keep On
  • 23 Mahalo Perfect Radio
  • 24 Sage Armstrong & BOT Flashy Lights
  • 25 Wongo Crunch
  • 26 YDG Replace You ft. Aviella