While dance music might have largely received a snub in the 2016 nominations, it’s proved a little harder to ignore this year. In addition to the standard dance/electronic categories, acts like The Chainsmokers have broken through into the main categories, while some of dance music’s top producers can boast studio credits for some of the biggest nominations.

First up, the Chainsmokers have nearly dominated the radio waves this year with their hit collaboration with Halsey, “Closer.” The song has earned a nomination for Best Pop Duo/Group Performance, as well as nabbing the Chainsmokers an additional nomination for Best New Artist.

Looking toward the Grammys’ two main electronic categories—Best Dance Recording and Best Dance/Electronic Album—Australian producer Flume is the clear standout, receiving nominations for his track “Never Be Like You” and his album Skin, respectively.

The other names who will be competing with Flume for Best Dance/Electronic Album include veteran house producer Louie Vega (a previous Grammy winner) for Louie Vega Starring…XXVIII; Underworld for Barbara Barbara, We Face a Shining Future; Jean-Michel Jarre for Electronica 1: The Time Machine; and Tycho for Epoch.

The remaining nominations for Best Dance Recording include Bob Moses “Tearing Me Up,” Riton’s “Rinse & Repeat,” and Sofi Tukker’s “Drinkee.”

Elsewhere, Steve Aoki’s documentary I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead has been nominated for Best Music Film, while Skrillex scored himself a nomination in the Best Song Written for Visual Media category for “Purple Lamborghini,” his Suicide Squad collaboration with Rick Ross.

Significantly, dance music also crept into some of the most prestigious categories, courtesy of producers having a hand in some of the high-profile releases nominated for Album of the Year. Justin Bieber’s Purpose album was nominated in that category, and he was famously assisted on production by both Skrillex and Diplo. James Blake and Diplo also received studio credits on Beyoncé’s Lemonade, which is also in the running for Album of the Year.

The Grammy Awards air on CBS on February 12. Check the full list of Dance/Electronic nominations below.

Best Dance Recording:
“Tearing Me Up” — Bob Moses
“Don’t Let Me Down” — The Chainsmokers ft. Daya
“Never Be Like You” — Flume ft. Kai
“Rinse & Repeat” — Riton ft. Kah-Lo
“Drinkee” — Sofi Tukker

Best Dance/Electronic Album:
Skin — Flume
Electronica 1: The Time Machine — Jean-Michel Jarre
Epoch — Tycho
Barbara Barbara, We Face a Shining Future — Underworld
Louie Vega Starring…XXVIII — Louie Vega



You might also like

  • 1 Redlight ft. Sweetie Irie Zum Zum
  • 2 Dombresky Technikal
  • 3 Left/Right Bloom
  • 4 Bonnie X Clyde, Purge Torn
  • 5 Chris Lake & Chris Lorenzo Nothing Better
  • 6 Craig Williams Everybody
  • 7 Cut Snake Dr Um
  • 8 Rell the Soundbender x Rawtek Baja
  • 9 Yultron ft. Leah Culver Ride With You
  • 10 Sinden & Herve Body & Soul
  • 11 Rell the Soundbender x B!tch Be Cool Diablo House
  • 12 Kayoh Rise
  • 13 CONVEX You Never
  • 14 ASDEK Signal Loss
  • 15 ATICA Like U
  • 16 Born Dirty & Jaw & Cassius High
  • 17 Dead Critic & Drop Dead Call Me
  • 18 DIV IDE Get In The Car
  • 19 Jayceeoh & Clips x Ahoy Dancin On My Wrist
  • 20 LA Riots House Philosophy
  • 21 LondonBridge x Lliam Taylor Creepin'
  • 22 Landis Keep On
  • 23 Mahalo Perfect Radio
  • 24 Sage Armstrong & BOT Flashy Lights
  • 25 Wongo Crunch
  • 26 YDG Replace You ft. Aviella