The link between Detroit techno and orchestral music is well established, with Octave One collaborating on a groundbreaking performance with Zurich’s Tonhalle Orchestra late last year, while Jeff Mills and Derrick May teamed with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra in January to perform to a 10,000-strong crowd. Fellow Detroit veteran Carl Craig is another fan of orchestral collabs, and he’s got a special project on the horizon.

Carl Craig’s Versus project first made its debut back in 2008, seeing him collaborating with acclaimed French ensemble Les Siècles alongside several prominent conductors. In March next year, this project will be showcased on Versus, an album produced by Craig that will present orchestrally enhanced versions of some of Craig’s existing techno classics.

Versus is my desire and dream come true to have my music interpreted by an orchestra,” Craig said in a statement, with the project already winning high praise from his contemporaries.

“I’m in awe of Carl’s determination to stretch the boundaries of techno… and prove that electronic beats are as much ‘music’ as violins or cellos,” says Gilles Peterson.

The album will be accompanied by a special Versus Synthesizer Ensemble live tour, which will see Craig joined on stage by five musicians, with further details to be announced in January.

Carl Craig’s Versus arrives on InFiné / Planet E in March 2017. Check out a recording of one of the special Versus concerts in full below.

Follow Carl Craig on Facebook | Twitter



You might also like
  • 1 Redlight ft. Sweetie Irie Zum Zum
  • 2 Dombresky Technikal
  • 3 Left/Right Bloom
  • 4 Bonnie X Clyde, Purge Torn
  • 5 Chris Lake & Chris Lorenzo Nothing Better
  • 6 Craig Williams Everybody
  • 7 Cut Snake Dr Um
  • 8 Rell the Soundbender x Rawtek Baja
  • 9 Yultron ft. Leah Culver Ride With You
  • 10 Sinden & Herve Body & Soul
  • 11 Rell the Soundbender x B!tch Be Cool Diablo House
  • 12 Kayoh Rise
  • 13 CONVEX You Never
  • 14 ASDEK Signal Loss
  • 15 ATICA Like U
  • 16 Born Dirty & Jaw & Cassius High
  • 17 Dead Critic & Drop Dead Call Me
  • 18 DIV IDE Get In The Car
  • 19 Jayceeoh & Clips x Ahoy Dancin On My Wrist
  • 20 LA Riots House Philosophy
  • 21 LondonBridge x Lliam Taylor Creepin'
  • 22 Landis Keep On
  • 23 Mahalo Perfect Radio
  • 24 Sage Armstrong & BOT Flashy Lights
  • 25 Wongo Crunch
  • 26 YDG Replace You ft. Aviella