There was a point in time—not too long ago, in fact—when LO’99 could easily be lumped in with many other under-the-radar artists waiting in the wings for their time to shine. But the secret is out, and the Australian producer has gotten close and chummy with career-making labels like This Ain’t Bristol, Night Bass, and Confession. His day-oners, though, remember his earlier work on his homeland’s Medium Rare Recordings imprint, where he returns to smash out a new single, “From the Start,” alongside vocal sensation Elizabeth Rose. It’s a slight departure from his usual low-end shenanigans, but the radio-friendly anthem still contains traces of the LO vibes we know and love.

Now, his Aussie homie and MRR comrade Hood Rich cashes in with a mischievous little rework that wants nothing to do with playing by the rules.

“Was really stoked to get into this remix. LO/Brian/Tom is a close friend, and Medium Rare is my favourite Australian label,” Hood Rich tells Insomniac. “I wanted to take all the elements and alter them, so texturally they were recognizable, but what they were playing was completely rearranged from the original. Really happy with how it came out; hope you guys dig it!”

Hood Rich takes a snippet of Rose’s hook and teases the shit out of us by plotting it out carefully between the heavily grinding synth stabs, rubbery basslines, and clattering percussion. This remix is definitely money in the bag, and it’s being offered up as a freebie by our friends over at Medium Rare. Cop it below.

Available now as a free download.

Follow Hood Rich on Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud
Follow LO’99 on Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud
Follow Medium Rare Recordings on Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud



You might also like
  • 1 Redlight ft. Sweetie Irie Zum Zum
  • 2 Dombresky Technikal
  • 3 Left/Right Bloom
  • 4 Bonnie X Clyde, Purge Torn
  • 5 Chris Lake & Chris Lorenzo Nothing Better
  • 6 Craig Williams Everybody
  • 7 Cut Snake Dr Um
  • 8 Rell the Soundbender x Rawtek Baja
  • 9 Yultron ft. Leah Culver Ride With You
  • 10 Sinden & Herve Body & Soul
  • 11 Rell the Soundbender x B!tch Be Cool Diablo House
  • 12 Kayoh Rise
  • 13 CONVEX You Never
  • 14 ASDEK Signal Loss
  • 15 ATICA Like U
  • 16 Born Dirty & Jaw & Cassius High
  • 17 Dead Critic & Drop Dead Call Me
  • 18 DIV IDE Get In The Car
  • 19 Jayceeoh & Clips x Ahoy Dancin On My Wrist
  • 20 LA Riots House Philosophy
  • 21 LondonBridge x Lliam Taylor Creepin'
  • 22 Landis Keep On
  • 23 Mahalo Perfect Radio
  • 24 Sage Armstrong & BOT Flashy Lights
  • 25 Wongo Crunch
  • 26 YDG Replace You ft. Aviella